the smartest place on earth

charles river, bostonTwo gentlemen are standing side by side in the men’s room at the Algonquin Hotel.  One of them finishes and starts to leave.  The other one says, “Excuse me, but at Yale they teach us to wash our hands after we use the bathroom.”  The first one smiles.  “At Harvard, they teach us not to pee on our hands.” (old joke; if you are a yalie you’ve heard it the other way round)

For my last day in Boston, I walked over the frozen Charles river (down by the dam where the water is still) into Cambridge.  It was a bright sunny blue-sky day when I started out but by the time I reached Harvard Square it had gone overcast.  It was still pretty nice walking weather which was a good thing, since I spent nearly 10 hours on my feet today, wandering all over Harvard, Cambridge in general, the small enclave of Huron Village, and the lovely snowy Mt. Auburn Cemetery.   I had a grilled asparagus/tomato/cheddar on sourdough sandwich and some astonishingly good french fries at a little cafe in Huron Village for lunch (and a much needed cup of hot chocolate) and an indifferent pizza but quite nice caesar salad in Cambridge for dinner.

By the time I returned to my hotel it was well past dark and I was so stiff and tired I wasn’t sure I would make it.  I cheated and rode the T home but still, walking was hard enough I thought I might trip over my feet.   A glass of Sam Adams delicious Tripel and bed was all about I could manage.

Home today.  Leaving for the airport in an hour or so.

~ by gun street girl on February 18, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
