head ’em up cowboy

I am a sucker for animated films of all kinds.   It’s an art form that I have enjoyed since I was a kid sitting in a darkened movie theater with a sack of homemade popcorn on my lap, watching the Looney Tunes cartoons that preceded the movies.  I’ve always loved Disney animation and was thrilled to see them combine forces with Pixar, which I consider to be one of the finest film studios (of any kind) ever.

Pixar released its first feature film in 1995.  That film was Toy Story, a sweet movie about the secret lives of toys.  The movie was excellent on any number of levels, including the plot, the voice acting, the music, and the animation.   It appealed to kids and adults alike and was probably single-handedly responsible for making animation respectable again (especially since Disney so profoundly dropped the ball after it’s own triumphal return to glory in the late 1980s and early 1990s).  Four years later Pixar released Toy Story 2, the continuing saga of Woody and Buzz and the gang of toys.  Despite my misgivings about sequels in general (they just aren’t ever as good as the first one and are usually depressingly unnecessary), TS2 was as good as the first movie.  It managed to keep the same ambiance, was true to the characters, and had a plot that flowed naturally from the original.  The characters, toy and human, matured yet none of the magic was lost.  It honored and enhanced everything good about TS and was in every sense of the words a Good Movie.

So now. eleven years after the awesomeness of Toy Story we have Toy Story 3 in fabulous 3-D.  And you know what?  I’m not even going to bother to review  it, it sucked that bad.

No, I’m kidding.  It’s amazing, probably the best movie I’ll see all year.   I am really not going to review it though because you really should go sit in the theatre with the dopey glasses on your face and watch it yourself and I don’t want to give anything away.  Suffice to say that Pixar doesn’t  make movies until they can make them right and their artistry and professionalism are evident in every single frame.  There are no false  notes.  None whatsoever.

OK…I can’t help myself.  Just a few teeny tiny POSSIBLE SPOILERS:

1.  El Buzz Español is hilarious.

2.   The bad guy’s comeuppance is perfect.

3.  There is a moment in this film, when the toys are in dire peril, that is one of the most touching things I’ve ever seen in a movie.  It captures almost perfectly the essence of love and loyalty and friendship.

In a nutshell, that last one I think is why I love Pixar films so much.  They are just cartoons but there is always a point in them when you forget that and everything seems real.   It really is some kind of magic.

So, why are you still reading?  You should be at the theatre.   Don’t forget to sneak in some home-made popcorn.

Score:  w00t!!

~ by gun street girl on July 12, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
